Skip to content

Designs by Nodarse

December 29, 2012

“Used Prescriptions”
Image

“Morning on the Okavango”Image

“Love in Brazil”Image

We at BTAC are always excited when we find an individual that is talented in fashion design.  This week, I had the privilege of interviewing Alejandro Octavio Nodarse, a 16-year-old high school student and jewelry designer from Winter Park, Florida.  Alejandro’s designs are anything but normal.  His jewelry is unique, creative, one of a kind, dramatic, bold and really represents Alejandro’s passions and interests.  We are thrilled to feature his designs on the BTAC blog and we see a lot of potential in him. We only hope Alejandro will continue to perfect his art in New York City when he is looking at colleges so he can compete for a spot in the BTAC fashion show!  Read on to hear about the jewelry savvy mind behind the designs.


BTAC: What made you want to start creating jewelry?  

Alejandro:  I’m not sure what my impetus was to actually create jewelry. However, I do know that my hands have always been trying to “catch-up” to my brain, and that having beads around inspired me to do something with them.

BTAC:  When did you start creating jewelry?

Alejandro:  I first started creating jewelry when I was only 6 years old. Since I can remember my mom would take me on trips to Michael’s where I could pick out a few beads. My fascination with the peculiar objects grew and soon I had amassed thousands of beads. Shortly after, my step-mom taught me to wrap wire and use professional tools. The rest was history!

BTAC:  What do you get your inspiration from?

Alejandro:  I am blessed with constant inspiration, or as my good friend refers to it “Art Vomit.” I draw much of my inspiration from nature and organic patterns. I’m also inspired by controversy in a general sense; I feel most accomplished when my pieces reflect what’s wrong in our society, as demonstrated by my “Consumerism” series.

BTAC:  Based on your line, it seems that you have an interest in medicine and anthropology and archaeology, is this true?  How did the idea come about to incorporate medicine and anthropology into your line?

Alejandro:  This is definitely true!  In the library, several months ago, I stumbled across a book about ethno botany, which is the study of indigenous people and their usage of plants.  It absolutely fascinated me. Studying various cultures from across the world, I realized so much of this wisdom has been lost in western society. I wanted to create pieces which could express the re-discovery of “indigenous” knowledge. To make those necklaces, I actually bleached my own jeans and then dyed them using various plant pigments. In creating those necklaces I was an archaeologist, weaving together a story of what I had “found.”
The medicine necklaces are a single part of a collection entitled “Consumerism,” which is a reflection of 21st century consumption. Having been sick several times that year (I bounced back and forth from one doctor to the next and had several surgeries) I realized how truly disconnected I had become from my own body. It always seemed that a lack of understanding, not a discovery, is what resulted in prescription after prescription, pill after pill. In “What is In My Blood?” the pill bottles I used were actually my own, as I questioned what doctors were unknowingly putting in my body. In “Used Prescriptions” I created fake prescriptions using Word and then “prescribed” the most commonly overdosed prescription drugs.

BTAC:  You seem to have a variety of designs, which is your favorite?

Alejandro:  So far, I think my favorite single design would be “Morning of the Okavango” because it was a revolutionary piece for me. As a collection though, I prefer the Consumerism series which includes “What’s In My Blood” and “Used Prescriptions” because of their raw power.

BTAC:  If you could name your style, what would it be?

Alejandro:  I think I would call my style challenging. Personally, my greatest fear in creating jewelry is the possibility of creating something that will simply appear pretty. I want all my work to challenge the viewer and pose difficult questions. I think Jewelry has an untapped potential to do this, because it is still viewed solely as an accessory and not a work of art. From the beginning of its creation, jewelry has reflected the people who created it, but modern jewelry rarely does so. I believe that creating jewelry that truly mirrors society will not only reflect it, but change it. That is what I need to do.

We are so impressed with Alejandro and his ability to create something so raw and different, and are sure you will be too!  Be sure to check out all of his one-of-a-kind designs!


Thanks Alejandro!

  • Allison

Image

To view more of Alejandro’s work, visit Alejandro Nodarse Design or contact him by email at alejnodarse@gmail.com.

Photos: Alejandro Nodarse Design

One Comment leave one →
  1. Betsy Pavlovich permalink
    December 30, 2012 11:27 am

    Wonderful wearable artistic expressions. You pour into your creations the essence of pure thought, Alejandro. You have created visual expressions of the mind in these pieces, which is art itself. Keep this unique craft going! The world needs your insight.

Leave a Reply

